Skip to main content

Teacher of the Year

Nebraska CEC annually awards one $500 scholarship to a Nebraska special education teacher.  The scholarship will be awarded to the most qualified applicant, as determined by the Nebraska CEC Scholarship Selection Committee.  

All scholarship applications must be emailed to by April 15, 2020.  The scholarship recipient will be mailed an official award letter and check. She/he will also be invited to our Nebraska CEC conference social event for a reception in their honor. Dates will be sent in the letter. It will be the responsibility of the recipient to provide Nebraska CEC with a current mailing address.


Award Criteria:

Applicants must be a current special education teacher working in a Nebraska school for the 2019-2020 school year. Teachers may nominate themselves or be nominated by others.


Application Process:

To be considered for this award, please submit the following:

  1. Current resume detailing your involvement in various activities and the community.
  2. 1-3 letters of recommendation  
  3. 1-3 testimonials from students, parents, colleagues
  4. Picture Release Form


Application Deadline and Questions:  

If you have questions regarding the scholarship application, please contact NE CEC via email to

To be considered for award selection, the completed application packet must be emailed to no later than April 15, 2020.


Past Winners

  • 2019 - Daniel Allan, Millard Public Schools
  • 2018 - Shelly Carney, Omaha, NE
Last Updated:  21 January, 2021

© 2024 Council for Exceptional Children (CEC). All rights reserved.